Fire Services

Duties & Responsibilities

Fire Services in DeSoto County fall under the Emergency Services division. The primary purpose of the ES department is to minimize injuries, deaths, and property loss resulting from medical emergencies, fires, and other incidents in DeSoto County. This is accomplished through education of the public and responding with trained personnel and equipment to all calls for assistance.


DeSoto County has eight volunteer fire stations with 300 volunteers, each of whom have undergone 120 hours of training in order to provide the best service possible when needed. DeSoto County has a paid ambulance service located in three fire stations which run 24 hours a day, seven days a week and are available to respond to any emergency anywhere in the unincorporated area of the county.

Not only do our volunteers respond within DeSoto County when called upon, but also they will respond anywhere they are needed. When Hurricane Katrina hit the coast in August 2005, DeSoto County was able to send a rotating crew of 19 men for a six-week period. They provided fire protection and emergency medical services to the Mississippi Gulf Coast.

During their "down time" they distributed food, water, and supplies and went door-to-door to check on residents to see if their services were needed.