Board of Supervisors

Supervisors Swearing in 2020

DeSoto County is governed by five elected District Supervisors.  Supervisors are elected to four-year terms by citizens in their district.  While each Supervisor represents his or her district, all the members are expected to look after the good of DeSoto County as a whole. 

County supervisors provide leadership over critical policy areas, including policies necessary to ensure safe communities, construction and maintenance of roads and bridges, protect public health, promote economic development, and plan and manage land use for sustainable development.  Supervisors also provide important oversight of county operations, including managing strategies to promote sound fiscal management and to develop a high-quality county government workforce.  

Primary Duties

  • Adopt an annual budget
  • Establish the annual property tax rate
  • Set policies, goals, and objectives to direct the County's growth and development
  • Adopt and provide for ordinances, rules, and regulations as necessary for the general welfare of the County
  • Carry out other responsibilities set forth by Mississippi State statutes

At the beginning of each year, the Board chooses from its members a president and a vice president to serve during the following year. The president presides at Board meetings and signs documents in the name of the county. The vice president substitutes when the president is absent.

Jessie Medlin
District 1 Supervisor

Jessie Medlin, District One Supervisor

Jessie Medlin Contact & Biography

Mark Gardner
District 2 Supervisor

Mark Gardner Supervisor District 2

Mark Gardner Contact & Biography

Ray Denison
Dist. 3 Supervisor & President

Ray Denison, Supervisor District 3

Ray Denison Contact & Biography

Lee Caldwell
District 4 Supervisor & VP

Lee Caldwell Photo updated 2021

Lee Caldwell Contact & Biography

Michael Lee
Dist. 5 Supervisor 

Michael Lee, District Five Supervisor

Michael Lee Contact & Biography

District Maps

View maps of DeSoto County's Supervisor Districts:

For More Information

For more information, contact the office for the Board of Supervisors at 662-469-8002.

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes