Important Notices

◄ Back
January 4, 2021 1:03 PM

New President of the DeSoto County Board of Supervisors

The New Year ushered the passing of the Gavel from District 1 Supervisor Jessie Medlin to District 2 Supervisor Mark Gardner. Today, Gardner was named President of the DeSoto County Board of Supervisors for 2021. District 5 Supervisor Michael Lee was named Board Vice President.
The President of the DeSoto County Board of Supervisors presides at Board Meetings and signs documents in the name of the county. The Vice President will preside at meetings when the president is absent.

About The DeSoto County Board of Supervisors:
The DeSoto County Board of Supervisors is the governing body of DeSoto County. Supervisors provide leadership over critical policy areas, including policies necessary to ensure safe communities, protect public health, promote economic development, and plan and manage land use.
DeSoto County Supervisors have full authority over roads and bridges in unincorporated areas of the county, county law enforcement, collections, fines, and levying taxes. The board is responsible for establishing policy for the complex multi-million dollar budgets of county government. While each supervisor represents his or her district, all of the members are expected to look after the good of DeSoto County as a whole.

District 1: Jessie Medlin is the longest serving Supervisor. He was first elected in 1992.
District 2: Mark Gardner was first elected in 2011.
District 3: Ray Denison is the newest Board Member. He was elected in 2019.
District 4: Lee Caldwell is the only woman on the Board. When elected in 2011, she was the first female elected as a DeSoto County Supervisors,
District 5: Michael Lee was appointed in 2014 after the passing of his brother, Supervisor Harvey Lee.

Jessie Medlin passes the gavel to Mark Gardner
Facebook Twitter Email