Election Commission

Current Election Commissioners

Poll Manager Application

The DeSoto County Election Commission is taking applications from  voters to become Poll Managers.  If you are interested, you can fill out the application online or click on the application below to print and then return via email to CEngelke@desotocountyms.gov.

Poll Manager Application

Information about Mississippi Voter ID

Beginning with the Primary Election on June 3, 2014, individuals voting at the polls will be required to show a photo ID. Individuals voting in person by absentee ballot in the Primary Election inside the Circuit Clerk's Office before June 3, 2014, also will be required to show a photo ID. Visit the Secretary of State's webpage for more information about Voter ID.

If you do not have a valid ID, you can receive one at the Circuit Clerk's Office located inside the DeSoto County Courthouse at 2535 Highway 51 South in Hernando.

About Election Commission

DeSoto County's Election Commission is responsible for purging voters who have died or moved out of the jurisdiction from the voter rolls. Other duties include organizing and supervising all general and special elections and precinct redistricting. The commission has five members elected to a four-year term. The districts are divided along supervisor district boundaries.

Each of the commissioners, before acting, shall take and subscribe the oath of office prescribed by the Constitution of and file the same in the office of the clerk of the chancery court, there to remain. While engaged in their duties, the commissioners shall be conservator of the peace in the county, with all the duties and powers of such.

Upon taking office, the county board of election commissioners shall organize by election a chairman and a secretary. It shall be the duty of the chairman to have the official ballot printed and distributed at each general or special election.